RSS

FESTIVALS AND THEIR SOCIAL ANGLE

21 Jan

Resolved Question

Show me another »

Are Hindu religious festivals more social than Christian and Muslim festivals?

Such as Hindu’s Holi where every one plays with colour, Kali Puja or Diwali’s cracker explosion, Bhai fota a festival when sisters bless their brothers for good luck, are they more social?

Best Answer – Chosen by Voters

Festivals of all the religions attract all the people equally. We cannot say that one festival is more social than the other –  is our figment of imagination.

Just think of Eid or Christmas Day or Diwali; the people of all hues attach the same importance and show their social fervour and enthusiasm. The feeling can be seen on their faces. It can also be seen in the market places etc. No difference in social stature at all. All the festivals elicit equal spiritual feeling. This is really great thing.

Source(s):

pl go through my blog https://emulateme.wordpress.com

  • 4 weeks ago

Who found this interesting?

 

Other Answers (5)

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2014 in Inner Thoughts

 

6 responses to “FESTIVALS AND THEIR SOCIAL ANGLE

  1. sharmishtha basu

    January 21, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    I believe iftaar parties are beautiful social gatherings, cant remember any such christian festival though. But Hindus will certainly win, all Hindu festivals are enjoyed together-family, friends, locals…

     
    • Harbans

      January 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

      I have been fortunate enough to enjoy every festivals because I have served in armed forces wherein you have opportunity of mixing with everybody. Being one; having same feelings for all the festivals is the name of the game. I have enjoyed all.

       
      • sharmishtha basu

        January 27, 2014 at 1:41 pm

        lucky! I have participated in Hindu festivals only 😦

         
      • Harbans

        January 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

        Yes ma’m I have been very lucky in every way. He had been very kind to me to have given the simplest habits in life – even satiety level too.

         
  2. safia

    January 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

    I’ve nominated you for the wordpress ‘Sunshine Award’ – please follow the link for more info and how to accept: http://topofthetent.com/2014/01/22/sunshine-award-another-thank-you/
    PS. I think one person’s idea of ‘sociable’ can be another’s idea of ‘hell’ – it’s all relative, I guess. Having said that, as long as we are reaching out to others, we are being sociable – after that, it’s just a question of technique. A thought-provoking question – thanks!

     
    • Harbans

      January 24, 2014 at 12:37 pm

      Please accept my respectful thanks for nominating me for the award. I shall follow the link soon.

       
 
