WHAT QUALITY DO YOU VALUE IN A FRIEND?

The saying, ‘A friend in need is a friend indeed’ is considered as one of the best traits of a friend. then the precept; ‘Friends are aplenty’ when your purse is full’ then you have ‘Fairweather friend’ . Also, ‘Friend who could be trusted’ in weal and woe. There are several examples of a friendship gone sore when selfish motives which come to the fore and causes hurdles in your way since a friend knows all your secrets. He could prove to be your bitter foe; coming in the way at opportune moments.

In essence, I opine, good friend is the one who knows you thoroughly and points out my drawbacks that is; offers healthy criticism when needed so that I can improve and refine. It may be with regard to my unethical behavior, unhealthy habit(s), negative thought percept(s) or helps me in how best to control my mind when it goes berserk when need is to be its master and not be a slave to it. It is a truth that we either are influenced positively by our parents or our teacher(s)/Gurus or our friend. And that too a friend who does not gloss over my flaws but pointedly has the knack of saying; ‘spade a spade’.

For this to be smooth sailing in friendship, I too have to act ‘quid pro quo’ so that this type of friendship is not single-track journey but a journey, fundamentally and profoundly’ based on ‘give and take’ and not on take and receive nothing at all since one way friendship leads to oblivion, a journey bereft of a goal. If a friend with such traits comes in our life, he is a most precious gift from our CREATOR.

The aforesaid traits in a friend I cherish for me.

Daily writing prompt
What quality do you value most in a friend?

Published by

Harbans

https://emulateme.wordpress.com/about/